Sir John Eliot Gardiner conducts the London Symphony Orchestra

Symphony No. 3 'Scottish'

Felix Mendelssohn & Robert Schumann

Inspired by his travels to the British Isles and full of the influence of the rolling Scottish landscape, both Felix Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3 Scottish and his Overture: The Hebrides are amongst the composer's most popular and admired works. These pieces are performed alongside Robert Schumann's Piano Concerto, featuring the celebrated pianist, Maria João Pires.

Production duration: 1 hr 31 min
London Symphony Orchestra

Cast & creative team


  • Conductor
    Sir John Eliot Gardiner
  • Pianist
    Maria João Pires
  • Orchestra
    London Symphony Orchestra


  • Felix Mendelssohn
  • Robert Schumann