Get access to over 750 educational resources across your entire institution with a Digital Theatre+ subscription.


  • Four stars

    The Guardian

    The London Symphony Chorus was wonderfully incisive and articulate in the large-scale movements, especially the second, All Flesh Is Grass, and warmly expressive in the more intimate ones such as the final Blessed Are the Dead.
  • Classical Source

    An undoubted plus was the solo singing – Christopher Maltman giving of his considerable best in the initial recitatives of the third and sixth movements, his sheer ardency finding meaningful contrast with the poise and pathos Matthews brought to the fifth movement in what is one of Brahms’s most affecting inspirations.

Cast & creative team


  • Conductor
    Valery Gergiev
  • Soprano
    Sally Matthews
  • Mezzo-soprano
    Ekaterina Gubanova
  • Baritone
    Christopher Maltman
  • Bass-baritone
    Kostas Smoriginas
  • Orchestra
    London Symphony Orchestra
  • Chorus
    London Symphony Chorus


  • Johannes Brahms
  • Karol Szymanowski
  • Valery Gergiev
  • Simon Halsey
    Chorus Director