Get access to over 750 educational resources across your entire institution with a Digital Theatre+ subscription.



    Brahms is another composer that needs a fine balancing act between restraint and passion, and Symphony No 4 is the most perfect example of this duality in his orchestral music.

    Szymanowski's Symphony No 4 “Symphonie Concertante” of 1932 is a piano concerto in all but name and as such easily stands up to comparison with the great works by Bartók and Prokofiev of the same period. As performed by Gergiev and his powerful pianist Denis Matsuev, this was a performance that struck one as energetic and bold, but also giving time for the work to breathe and expand as needed.

Cast & creative team


  • Conductor
    Valery Gergiev
  • Pianist
    Denis Matsuev
  • Violinist
    Leonidas Kavakos
  • Orchestra
    London Symphony Orchestra


  • Johannes Brahms
  • Karol Szymanowski
  • Valery Gergiev